Part 1 of indian Constitution

  1. Name and territory of the Union.
  2. Admission or establishment of new States.
  3. Formation of new States and alteration of areas, boundaries or names of existing States.
  4. Laws made under articles 2 and 3 to provide for the amendment of the First and the Fourth Schedules and supplemental, incidental and consequential matter.
Part 1 of indian Constitution

Part 1 of indian Constitution- Union and its territory

Part 1 of Indian constitution compromise for articles from Article 1 to 4.All article are below-

Article 1 of indian Constitution

  • India, that is Bharat, shall be an Union of States.
  • The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule.
  • The territory of India shall comprise:-
  1. The territories of the States
  2. The Union territories
  3. such other territories as may be acquired by government of India that time.

Article 2 of indian Constitution

Parliament may by law admit into the Union, or establish, new States on such terms and conditions as it thinks fit.

Article 3 of indian Constitution

Parliament may by law—

  • Form a new State by separation of territory from any State or by uniting two or more States or parts of States or by uniting any territory to a part of any State.
  • Increase the area of any State.
  • Diminish the area of any State.
  • Alter the boundaries of any State.
  • Alter the name of any State.

Article 4 of indian Constitution

It tells that no Bill for the purpose shall be introduced in either House of Parliament except on the recommendation of the President. Unless, where the proposal contained in the Bill affects the area, boundaries.

Exchange of territories with Bangladesh

100th Constitutional Amendment Act 2015 was enacted to give effect to the acquiring of server 10 territories by India and transfer of certain other territories to Bangladesh in pursuance of the agreement and its Protocol in turned into between the governments of India and Bangladesh. Under this deal India transfer 111 Enclave to Bangladesh while Bangladesh transferred 51 enclaves to India.

Territory of India in 1956

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Assam
  3. Bihar
  4. Bombay
  5. Jammu and Kashmir
  6. Kerala
  7. Madhya Pradesh
  8. Madras
  9. Mysore
  10. Odisha
  11. Punjab
  12. Rajasthan
  13. Uttar Pradesh
  14. West Bengall


  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Delhi
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Laccadive minicoy and amindivi Islands
  • Manipur
  • Tripura

New territories after implementation of Indian Constitution

  • Maharashtra and Gujarat (1960)
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1961)
  • Goa, Daman and Diu (1961/1987)
  • Puducherry (1962)
  • Nagaland (1963)
  • Haryana, Chandigarh and Himachal Pradesh (1966)
  • Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya (1972)
  • Sikkim (1974)
  • Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Goa (1987)
  • Chhattisgarh Uttarakhand and Jharkhand (2000)
  • Telangana (2014)
  • Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh (2019)

Special note: the amendment done in the territories of states and any other part of country will not be come under Article 368 to amend the constitution.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *